April 18, 2024, 04:45:53 PM

------------------------------------------

PLZ READ THIS ALL ACTIVE MEMBERS

CLICK Here.

Author Topic: Write before outline, or outline before writing?  (Read 1726 times)

Offline Crazycone

• View Profile
Write before outline, or outline before writing?
« on: September 11, 2013, 07:35:06 PM »
Soooo....
I'm extremely new at creating manga, and I am learning "How to draw manga-style characters" as I draw a storyboard because I CANT WAIT ANY LONGEEER! The ideas are just fleshing out by themselves in my head, its like a  :ohmy: BOOOM! You get me?

Anyways, I am stuck at this decision: Should I completely outline my characters before I start drawing/writing the storyboard (idk if thats the name for manga outlines), or should I develop them as I write/draw?
THE Crazycone... JC

Offline Lumaria

• Editor Group
  • Someone who will tell you what you need to hear
    • View Profile
Re: Write before outline, or outline before writing?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 07:59:12 PM »
for me? originally, i had to slow down. every idea sounded "great" but when i add it on top of another big idea. it wasn't a well thought out story.

Keep "ideas" on the side, and set up a very basic plot. then implement one idea at a time and see if it all "fits". And yes, you should definitely outline your characters. maybe not on paper, but in your mind.

personally, i never needed to write my characters because i already visualized them. the only time i do is to help my readers visualize them. You must have some future plans for your characters or else it'll all be done very rushed.

also a "slow" story is always the best ones. do you see hinata confessing to naruto on the first arc? no, she does so years later.
Stop playing victim....you know what you did.

Offline Crazycone

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 08:45:59 PM »