May 23, 2019, 07:49:54 PM

------------------------------------------

If you have Login Problems Use the Login in Top Menu Bar

------------------------------------------
If you have a problem registering here, Leave a msg at our FB Page >> Here.

Plz Don't use Hotmail to Register. You might not receive Activation mail. Use Other free mail provider like Gmail or Yahoo.

Author Topic: Questions about coloring  (Read 414 times)

Offline Inarius1

• View Profile
Questions about coloring
« on: April 01, 2019, 02:43:45 PM »
Yoroshiku onegaishimasu! Hello, I am a young and aspiring artist, and I have been honing my skills since the age of three (when I did my first finger painting, it was a flower). I love to draw, sketch, and doodle. Everything from flowers and fighting stickmen plastered all over my homework, to full-human sized anime character portraits! I am now seventeen and about to graduate highschool, and have decided I want to hone my artistic skills. I have enrolled in a Japanese college for mangaka, and wish to prepare for my time there as much as possible. However, I am color deficient, which means I can see color, but not very well. I used to color my drawings years ago, but stopped when I was made fun of for using an apricot crayon to color skin (I was really surprised to learn that it's a different color!) However, I have been developing my skills, and finding ways to overcome my deficiency. I believe I have all but mastered most aspects of my preferred medium, however, I am having trouble with coloring with black. As a color that overrides most others, even when applied lightly, it makes it difficult to color clothing, hair, and other things without the image looking to flat and amateur. For now, I just shade in what I want black, but I would like to ask those of you more experienced than I about methods to do this in a more professional manner. My theory is that the pros use a really dark shade of purple or something along those lines (I think this becau