August 25, 2019, 05:02:40 AM

------------------------------------------

If you have Login Problems Use the Login in Top Menu Bar

------------------------------------------
If you have a problem registering here, Leave a msg at our FB Page >> Here.

Plz Don't use Hotmail to Register. You might not receive Activation mail. Use Other free mail provider like Gmail or Yahoo.

Author Topic: Copyrighting and stealing ideas  (Read 817 times)

Offline mynamesnottim

• View Profile
Copyrighting and stealing ideas
« on: November 27, 2018, 12:24:01 AM »
Hey everyone,

I’m sure this topic has been talked about before, but I am new here and wanted to bring up some questions.

I am a new writer and have a lot of ideas. A lot of those ideas are still in development which is why I come to sites like this one. I want to run ideas off of peers and develop my story. I am nervous to post my half finished story ideas because I do not want someone to read them, like them, and then use my idea to build their story.

I get that this is a way content is created. I take ideas from shows and books that I have read and give them my own twist. I still just feel paranoid about posting anything. I’m not trying to brag that I have the best ideas in the world. Far from that. But I am trying to give myself a chance at capitalizing on my own ideas and bringing them to life with a chance of publishing them and make a living.

Does someone out there know the rules around copyrighted works (particularly on a site like this one) and what steps I should be taking before posting ideas? I know, a very vague and broad question, but any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
mynamesnottim

Offline MahluaandMilk

• King of Lurking Losers / Fanservice with Legs
  • Resident Witchipedia
    • View Profile
Re: Copyrighting and stealing ideas
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 12:51:01 AM »