September 24, 2018, 11:19:23 AM

------------------------------------------

If you have Login Problems Use the Login in Top Menu Bar

------------------------------------------
If you have a problem registering here, Leave a msg at our FB Page >> Here.

Plz Don't use Hotmail to Register. You might not receive Activation mail. Use Other free mail provider like Gmail or Yahoo.

Author Topic: Greetings!  (Read 299 times)

Offline Andrew Wander

• A 13 year old boy.
    • View Profile
Greetings!
« on: December 17, 2017, 08:01:05 AM »
Hey!
Greetings, I'm a new member in the MangaRaiders forum and I want to say hello to everyone of you.
I am a thirteen-years-old student and I really like watching anime :D
I started drawing anime/manga styled stuff 3 days ago. I watched a lot of tutorials on YouTube and I think I'll be learning slowly.
I drawn with a pretty cheap set of colored pencils and it didn't look good, definitely  :(
I'm going to get some new art supplies like markers and colored pencils very soon  :dance:
I came to this forum because I really want to get comments so I could improve quickly  ::)
Spoiler
I hope I'll have a great stay in the forum  :D
Wish you a great day!

Offline Coryn

• Director of the MR Science Division
  • Global Moderator
  • Secretly a 13 year old girl.
    • View Profile
Re: Greetings!
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 09:13:41 AM »
Welcome to mangaraiders!

I'm glad you've taken an interest in art! Let me start with some advice on that: Learning to "draw anime style" is actually the wrong way to go about learning to "draw anime style", funny enough. Good artists don't look at the finished style and emulate, they start with the basics, and develop for themselves.

You should start by learning proper anatomy, geometry, shading, all the things that get covered in a basic art class. If you know the fundamentals, crafting a unique style will come easy. Do not take the quick and easy path, as Vader did.

Good luck!