November 17, 2017, 04:05:14 PM

------------------------------------------

If you have Login Problems Use the Login in Top Menu Bar

------------------------------------------
If you have a problem registering here, Leave a msg at our FB Page >> Here.

Plz Don't use Hotmail to Register. You might not receive Activation mail. Use Other free mail provider like Gmail or Yahoo.

Author Topic: The Mistake New Manga Artists Make  (Read 449 times)

Offline Lord Kesashi

• The Cel Shader
    • View Profile
The Mistake New Manga Artists Make
« on: May 20, 2017, 02:19:32 AM »
I am a visual art student majoring in Drawing and Painting and I wanted to share some things I've learned I was wrong about when I was aspiring to become a manga artist.

1. Traditional art and manga art require different skills
When I began my studies I believed many of the things I was doing were irrelevant to my end goals. But as I've learned more about art I've become more perceptive and it's clear that many great manga artists were visual arts students or were perhaps as observant and obsessive as the artists of the renaissance. For instance, how many aspiring manga artists know what "reflected light" is? The level of realism that simple illusion adds to the image is extraordinary. Many great manga artists are familiar with this construct most people don't know exists. Many great manga artists are well aware of all these fundamentals pioneered by ancient Greek and renaissance artists.

2. Practice drawing manga by looking at manga
This is a trap. Manga artists take reality and generalize it just enough to fit their needs. When you draw what you see, you will naturally generalize it in some way. So when you draw from manga, you generalize a generalization ending up with something much less attractive than the artwork you saw. This greatly hinders the natural development of your skills in portraying perspective, anatomy, balance, and general art skills.