August 16, 2018, 10:30:11 AM

------------------------------------------

If you have Login Problems Use the Login in Top Menu Bar

------------------------------------------
If you have a problem registering here, Leave a msg at our FB Page >> Here.

Plz Don't use Hotmail to Register. You might not receive Activation mail. Use Other free mail provider like Gmail or Yahoo.

Author Topic: Different strokes  (Read 1533 times)

Offline okarutikku

• View Profile
Different strokes
« on: June 22, 2016, 02:26:56 PM »
I read through a few threads and noticed everyone seems to have there own unique workflow like most creative arts :)

What products would one want to acquire to imitate these two very famous artists,

Shintaro kago,

toshio Saeki,

???

Any help would be welcome. I'm very new to the craft so knowing what the right tools are for the job would be a huge 1up in saving time and money being a sound guy if that makes sense :)

Offline MK

• Super Critic
    • View Profile
Re: Different strokes
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2016, 04:05:11 AM »
I mean it really depends on what you want to do.  I'm pretty sure they are both traditional artists especially with their age kept in mind.  Digital art is pretty much taking over many aspects simply because of the undo button but I don't think tools are what you need.  If you want to copy a style then you just need to practice that style of drawing rather than the tools they have.

I looked them up very briefly and it just looks like Shintaro Kago uses a G-pen and Toshio Saeki uses paint.  Truthfully I think a pencil and maybe a G-pen is all you really need to get started.  If you wanted color then acrylic is much easier and faster to dry. 

In the long run traditional is more expensive but for digital all you really need is a tablet and a computer.

Offline okarutikku

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2016, 08:59:13 AM »